Serve

“I love you,” to the Lord I said

“I want to be your Child”

“If you love me, serve,” He said.

“But then I’ll be reviled”.

“I want to do your will, my King

I want to please Your Son”

With thunder then the words did ring

“Work for my will to be done.”

“I don’t want to get dirty.

I don’t want to be seen.”

“If you would spread My mercy

Your hand’s cannot stay clean.”

“Can’t I stay right where I am

Inside my comfort zone?”

“Go” said the precious, spotless Lamb

“My wonderful love to show”

“I could stay right here,” I said

“You will not hear ‘well done’.

I want the best for you. Be led.

Serve me and serve my Son.”

Many years have passed since then

His promises are true

I’m glad that I had listened when

He asked for what He’s due.

I know that I am weak and frail

I cannot give all He deserves

But ’tis my honor on the Heavenly Trail

That I was asked to serve.

Abilene Mast, February 2024.

2 thoughts on “Serve

  1. This is beautiful. If you are still considering having a book published someday I hope you will include this poem. It is good to see you continuing to faithfully serve our Lord.

    Like

Leave a comment