Character Interview–Katie from Though He Slay Me

Me: Hello, Katie. It’s nice to finally be able to meet you after all these years. Did you know you were originally going to be named Jamie?

 

Katie Riley: Yes, Abby, I had heard that from my parents. I’m glad they named me Katie. Jamie is okay, but I prefer Jayma, especially for a middle name.

 

Me: That’s interesting. Anyway, since I want to ask you a few questions, I’ll start off with some simple ones.  How old are you and how many siblings do you have?

KR: I am fourteen. I have six siblings, four brothers, two sisters. I’m a middle child. My brothers are two sets of twins, one pair five years older than me, the other three years younger than me. Alice is the oldest and Becky is the baby of the family.

 

Me: Wow, that’s a lot. Do you have many interests, hobbies, or obsessions?

 

KR: *laughs*  You could say that I do. Music is one of my interests, I suppose. I play violin, so I guess you could say that it’s a hobby, too. A few other interests would be soccer, skiing, aerospace dynamics and engineering, carving, and molecular biology. To name a few hobbies…reading, obviously. I love to read. Ummm…reciting poetry, quoting Shakespeare, flying, tackle football with my brothers, riding Troop, playing chess, watching old war movies from the 40s.

 

Me: So, an obsession of yours would be…?

 

KR: I guess I don’t really have any…well, I guess you could say I’m obsessed with Jesus. *grins* He’s a noble Person to be obsessed with, isn’t He?

 

Me: He surely is. Speaking of Christianity, is it true that your family and a group of others is moving to Africa in a few short weeks?

 

KR: Yes, that’s true. We will be leaving for the Democratic Republic of the Congo. We plan to set up a larger mission on the edge of the forest and gradually migrate into a smaller mission in the interior. The mainly untouched tribes will be who we are trying to reach primarily.

 

Me: How do you feel about this intercontinental move?

KR: *sighs* It’s okay, I guess. I mean, I know God wants us to go, but I’m going to hate leaving my extended family, some of my friends, and of course, my horse.

 

Me: I take it that Troop is your horse?

 

KR: Yes. He’s an old retired racehorse my dad bought for a few hundred at an auction. He’s really sweet.

 

Me: He sounds dreamy. You must love him a lot.

 

KR: Yeah. We’re giving him to my uncle before we move. He has a farm in Idaho.

 

Me: Potatoes, huh?

KR: You got it. Potatoes, a little bit of corn, some beans, alfalfa, a few hogs, two cows, and, sooner or later, Troop.

 

Me: So, what would you say it is your most embarrassing moment?

 

KR: Ummm…*laughs nervously* When I was seven, I thought this guy was a police officer….I was mad at Jack at the time…anyway, he wasn’t a police officer, and he thought what I said to him was hilarious. He picked me up, put me on his shoulder in the middle of the cold foods section of Walmart, and yelled out what I had said to everybody who would listen.

 

Me: Well, what did you say?

 

KR: I’d rather not let that cat get out, if you’ll pardon the expression.

 

Me: No problem. That’s the all time I have, though. Can we do this again sometime?

 

KR: Sure. God bless.

 

–Abby

Leave a Reply

