‘Bama is calling and I must go

I’m going to Gulf Shores!!!!!!
Sandy beaches, sparkling blue water, a golf course filled with gators, twenty-three people in one house for a week…what’s not to love???

Saturday or Sunday I will see the ocean for the first time. It’s exciting. 😊 Meredith, my sister, is worried about sharks. I’m trying to reason with her… here’s how the conversations usually go:

Me–Sis, you’re more likely to be struck by lightning than be bitten by a shark. Lighten up.

Mer–I don’t care! Shark attacks are always in the news! Eleven people have been attacked unprovoked in Alabama since 1900!

Me–THE ATTACKS ARE IN THE NEWS BECAUSE THEY MAKE THE NEWS BECAUSE THEY AREN’T THAT COMMON.

Mer–I don’t care. I want to see them coming at me. I hope the water is clear.

Me–*sighs* Whatever.
Anyway, since Meredith and our cousin Alyssa are graduating next year, my mom’s side of the family wanted to have a big vacation together before kids go off to college and start families of their own, so our grandparents, our family, and my mom’s siblings rented a house for a week. There are thirteen grandkids, ten of them girls, seven of those in the teenage years. Talk about no bathroom availability. 😂
We’re leaving Friday after Dad gets off work to drive to St. Lou to spend the night. Saturday, Meredith’s seventeenth birthday, we’ll drive the rest of the way and get in just in time for pizza. I think a party may be in the works…(Shh. You didn’t hear it from me.)😊
So, if I’m quiet for about a week, it’s because I’m building sandcastles under a summer sky. Hopefully I won’t be gone as long as last time.
Dreaming of the beautiful Gulf,

Abby

Leave a Reply

